Liam Gallagher and John Squire to release debut album in March

Music news

Rumors about a possible artistic union between Liam Gallagherformer singer of Oasisnext to John Squireformer guitarist The Stone Roses They have been talking about it since the middle of last year, but it wouldn’t be until September when Liam confirmed during an interview that they were going to work together.

A month later, in October, Gallagher even stated that both were working on an album, which was going to be “the best album since Revolver”referring to what was the Beatles’ seventh studio album, released in 1966.

In December they announced more details about their collaboration. Thus, the singer of wall of glass posted a video clip of Squire playing guitar and of him joining Oasis on stage. In the audio of the video, Gallagher is heard saying: “John Squire is undoubtedly the best guitarist of his generation and in the world, in my opinion”.

However, it would not be until the beginning of 2024, specifically on January 5, when we were able to hear J.You Another Rainbowthe first single from the album.

Now, the Manchester legends have just announced that their self-titled debut album will be launched on March 1, 2024. To celebrate, they wanted to share a second preview of the album, the song Mars To Liverpool.

Speaking about the album, Gallagher stated: “I can’t wait for people to hear the album. I think people who like Stone Roses and Oasis and that kind of stuff, I think they’ll love it. It’s spiritual, it’s crucial.”.

For his part, Squire said: “I like the way that in some parts it’s quite melancholic and can make you feel good, but there are other parts that are a little irreverent, rude or crude. There’s a little bit of everything there, I think it’s a very good mix. “I had a feeling we would sound good together, but I wasn’t prepared for it to fit so well.”.

The artists have also announced a joint tour that will begin on March 13 at the Barrowland Ballroom in Glasgow, where they will be joined by Barrie Cadogan to the bass and Joey Waronker to the battery. They will then visit cities such as London, Dublin, Leeds, Manchester, Paris and Berlin, before concluding on April 11 at the Paramount in Brooklyn. British singer and songwriter Jake Bugg He will be his special guest except for the New York show.

View this post on Instagram

A post shared by Liam Gallagher (@liamgallagher)

‘Mars to Liverpool’ track listing

1. Raise Your Hands

2. Mars To Liverpool

3. One Day At A Time

4. I’m a Wheel

5. Just Another Rainbow

6. Love You Forever

7. Make It Up As You Go Along

8. You’re Not The Only One

9. I’m So Bored

10. Mother Nature’s Song


Written by

Christopher Johnson

Christopher Johnson is a dedicated writer and key contributor to the WECB website, Emerson College's student-run radio station. Passionate about music, radio communication, and journalism, Christopher pursues his craft with a blend of meticulous research and creative flair. His writings on the site cover an array of subjects, from music reviews and artist interviews to event updates and industry news. As an active member of the Emerson College community, Christopher is not only a writer but also an advocate for student involvement, using his work to foster increased engagement and enthusiasm within the school's radio and broadcasting culture. Through his consistent and high-quality outputs, Christopher Johnson helps shape the voice and identity of WECB, truly embodying its motto of being an inclusive, diverse, and enthusiastic music community.