Muse celebrates 20 years of Absolution

Music news

Muse’s third album, Absolution, celebrates its 20th anniversary. The British trio takes the opportunity to announce a reissue planned for November.

On September 15, 2003, Muse confirmed his status as a rising rock figure by releasing Absolution. With Matthew Bellamy’s touch still present, but a touch of maturity added, this record allowed the British trio to establish their success. There we find classics that the group still plays on stage, such as “Time Is Running Out” or “Hysteria”. There are other gems there, such as the melodic “Sing for Absolution” or the aggressive “Stockholm Syndrome”. The public responded, notably placing this record in first place in the sales charts in France. Absolution has sold more than 3.5 million copies worldwide.

To celebrate the 20th anniversary of its release, Muse released an expanded reissue of their third album. Available since November 17 on double-CD and triple-vinyl, it includes a remastered version ofAbsolution, new live versions or even demos. Also find photos and interviews with the group. The members discuss the ups and downs of the recording process and the social environment that inspired the album’s themes. Producer Rich Costley also speaks. A deluxe version will also be available, with a 40-page hardcover book.

Muse released his latest album, Will of the Peoplein 2022. We find metal influences in this record. “In making this album, we looked at what we had done before, to come back to what we had put aside” explains guitarist and singer Matthew Bellamy in an interview with the editorial staff. “On Absolution – maybe even Black Holes & Revelations, at times – we were able to get a pretty heavy sound. But a few songs may not have aged so well, so we had to re-examine our approach. One of the keys was “Dom”, who learned the double pedal (a technique particularly proven in metal, editor’s note). When we rehearsed with it, it unlocked something very aggressive, and it allowed us to explore songs like “Kill or Be Killed”, “Won’t Stand Down”, or even the title track, “Will of the People”. »

The anniversary reissue ofAbsolution is available for pre-order.

Here is the tracklist and cover:

  • CD1: Remastered Absolution
  1. Intro
  2. Apocalypse Please
  3. Time Is Running Out
  4. Sing For Absolution
  5. Stockholm Syndrome
  6. Falling Away With You
  7. Interlude
  8. Hysteria
  9. Blackout
  10. Butterflies & Hurricanes
  11. The Small Print
  12. Fury
  13. Endlessly
  14. Thoughts of a Dying Atheist
  15. Ruled by Secrecy
  • CD2: Bonus Music
  1. Apocalypse Please (vocals and keyboard only)
  2. Time is Running Out (Live at the Wiltern Theater 2004)
  3. Sing for Absolution (Live at the Antic Arena, Vienna 2004)
  4. Falling Away With You (Demo 2002)
  5. Hysteria (Demo 2002)
  6. Hysteria (Live At Earl’s Court 2004)
  7. Blackout (Live at the Antic Arena, Vienna 2004)
  8. Butterflies & Hurricanes (Vocals, keyboard and strings only)
  9. Endlessly (Live at the Collumbiahalle, Berlin 2004)
  10. Thoughts of a Dying Atheist (Live at the Wiltern Theater 2004)
  11. Ruled by Secrecy (vocals and keyboard only)

Written by

Christopher Johnson

Christopher Johnson is a dedicated writer and key contributor to the WECB website, Emerson College's student-run radio station. Passionate about music, radio communication, and journalism, Christopher pursues his craft with a blend of meticulous research and creative flair. His writings on the site cover an array of subjects, from music reviews and artist interviews to event updates and industry news. As an active member of the Emerson College community, Christopher is not only a writer but also an advocate for student involvement, using his work to foster increased engagement and enthusiasm within the school's radio and broadcasting culture. Through his consistent and high-quality outputs, Christopher Johnson helps shape the voice and identity of WECB, truly embodying its motto of being an inclusive, diverse, and enthusiastic music community.