Jennifer Lopez: “Ben inspired me to make music again”

Music news

Jennifer Lopez is a hit in “The Mother”Jennifer Lopez: near death on the set of “Shotgun Wedding”Sam Smith, Jennifer Lopez, Rihanna... These albums which are expected for 2023Jennifer Lopez didn't like the 'Super Bowl' halftime show with ShakiraJennifer Lopez in “Marry Me”: discover her interview“Marry Me”, “I Want You Back”, “The Revenge of a Blonde 3”… The most anticipated romantic comedies in 2022Jennifer Lopez really separated from Alex Rodriguez?

INTERVIEW – On the occasion of the release of her new album “This Is Me… Now” and the musical film that accompanies it, Jennifer Lopez delivers an exclusive interview to WECB. The star talks about his return and the influence of Ben Affleck.

I feel like it’s something very different from what I’ve done so far. » Eight years after the release of his last album “AKA », Jennifer Lopez is making her comeback in music. The New York star has just released “Can’t Get Enough”, the first single from his next opus “This Is Me… Now”. A project which celebrates love and which, of course, echoes “This Is Me… Then”, her essential third album released in 2002, the year in which the star formalized her first relationship with a certain… Ben Affleck.

It’s much more personal than anything I’ve ever done in music.” J Lo tells us about this new album. When Ben Affleck and I got back together, I was really inspired to make music again. Obviously, something surreal and very magical happened at the same time.”, continues the interpreter of “If You Had my Love”. An inspiration that helped her write “This Is Me… Now” in the space of a few weeks. “ I think we worked for less than two months and the album was finished “, she further specifies. As a reminder, after breaking up in 2004, “Bennifer”, the couple she formed with actor and director Ben Affleck, met again 17 years later and finally got married in 2022.

“It’s the story of an incorrigible romantic”

For her comeback, the singer did not limit herself to the release of her 11th album since her musical film “This Is Me… Now: A Love Story” will be unveiled the same day as the album’s release on Prime Video. So what is it about? “ It’s the story of a hopeless romantic and her journey to find love. », Explains the actress who is also co-writer of the film which mixes fiction and reality.

“It’s not totally autobiographical, but it’s very inspired by things and moments in my life”insists Jennifer Lopez. “I think everyone is looking for love in one way or anothershe emphasizes again. And it’s a confusing thing. This is something we must discover for ourselves and each in our own way. »

Mark your calendars! The album “This is Me…Now” and the film “This is Me…Now: A Love Story” will be released on February 16.

“This is Me…Now” – Tracklist:

1. “This Is Me…Now”
2. “To Be Yours”
3. “Mad in Love”
4. “Can’t Get Enough”
5. “Rebound”
6. “not.going.anywhere.”
7. “Dear Ben, Pt. II”
8. “Hummingbird”
9. “Hearts and Flowers”
10. “Broken Like Me”
11. “This Time Around”
12. “Midnight Trip to Vegas”
13. “Greatest Love Story Never Told”


Written by

Christopher Johnson

Christopher Johnson is a dedicated writer and key contributor to the WECB website, Emerson College's student-run radio station. Passionate about music, radio communication, and journalism, Christopher pursues his craft with a blend of meticulous research and creative flair. His writings on the site cover an array of subjects, from music reviews and artist interviews to event updates and industry news. As an active member of the Emerson College community, Christopher is not only a writer but also an advocate for student involvement, using his work to foster increased engagement and enthusiasm within the school's radio and broadcasting culture. Through his consistent and high-quality outputs, Christopher Johnson helps shape the voice and identity of WECB, truly embodying its motto of being an inclusive, diverse, and enthusiastic music community.